Jun 3

Upcoming Event

The Emancipation of Re:Sonance – Five Austrian Masters Revisited

Franz Hackl & IDO Ensemble | Zawinul

February 14, 2012 @ 7:30 PM

Austrian Cultural Forum New York
11 East 52nd Street
New York, NY 10022

Registration is now open for this event! Click here to reserve tickets.

Jazz legend Joe Zawinul was one of Austria’s most influential musicians & composers who developed his own musical language. For this concert, New York-based trumpeter Franz Hackl and his IDO Ensemble will take Zawinul’s compositions as a point of departure from which to develop their own new musical creations.

The high-caliber musicians performing this evening will explore the dynamic relationship between subtle chamber music passages, jazz improvisations, and pulsating hard hitting rock and world fusion rhythms. The Zawinul compositions which will be performed, will go beyond simple arrangements. They will incorporate fresh angles and expose new layers in the oeuvre of this very complex artist. In the spirit of Zawinul, improvisation will play a very important role in this event.

This concert is part of a new series presented by the Austrian Cultural Forum and the Manhattan New Music Project: “The Emancipation of Re:Sonance – Five Austrian Masters Revisited”, which focuses on five of Austria’s most famous composers and the re-interpretation, re-imagination, and re-arrangement of some of their greatest works. The title of the series plays on Arnold Schönberg’s concept of the “Emancipation of Dissonance”.

Other events in the series will include performances by Sarah Weaver, Gene Pritsker and the International Street Cannibals, Peter Evans and the Wet Ink Ensemble, and Fieldwork.

About the Artists:
The line-up for this evening includes musicians who have played with Zawinul, as well as Franz Hackl and the IDO Quartet.

Franz Hackl – trumpet, flügelhorn, piccolo trumpet
John Clark – french horn
Dave Taylor – bass trombone
Bruce Williamson – sax, clarinet, flute
Wayne Escoffery – sax,flute
Ron Oswanski – accordion
Gene Pritsker – guitar
Adam Holzman – keyboards, synthesizer
Matt Garrison – electric bass
Mino Cinelu – percussion
Kim Plainfield – drums

Admission is free, but tickets are extremely limited! Click here to RSVP.